Aggie football news

It’s been a while since Utah State fans might have welcomed news about the football team to take their minds off woes concerning the basketball team.

So here you go. Diondre Borel, Robert Turbin and Bobby Wagner are getting some love from The website ranked WAC players regardless of position and the three Aggies were among the Top 30.

Utah State’s 52-49 heartbeat-raising win over Idaho was also tabbed as the best game of the season in the WAC. Defensive purists might argue about that, but if you like offense, momentum swings and last-minute thrills, it’s hard to dispute that game as an entertaining one.

Here’s the cut-paste snip from USU:

“Three Utah State football players were recognized by with Western Athletic Conference honors and the Utah State-Idaho game was the publication’s WAC Game of the Year.

Sophomore linebacker Bobby Wagner was named to the publication’s all-WAC team while sophomore running back Robert Turbin and junior quarterback Diondre Borel joined Wagner on the WAC’s Top 30 Players Regardless of Position list.

Utah State’s thrilling 52-49 win over Idaho on Nov. 28 was tabbed by the publication as the WAC Game of the Year, after the Aggies and Vandals amassed 1,069 yards of total offense and 101 points. Turbin ran for three TD’s and added two TD catches, tying a school record five total TD’s. USU jumped out to a 21-7 first quarter lead, and built a 31-7 advantage before Idaho rallied to take a 42-38 lead, only to see the Aggies storm back and hang on for the monumental road victory, recovering the onside kick in the waning moments. It was USU’s first road win since 2007, snapping a 12-game road losing skid.

The publication compiled a Top 30 Players Regardless of Position list, ranking Turbin at No. 5, Borel at No. 10 and Wagner at No. 19. Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore was No. 1, followed by Nevada QB Colin Kaepernick, Fresno State running back Ryan Mathews, Nevada RB Vai Taua and Turbin. Moore was named the WAC Offensive Player of the Year, while Idaho safety Shiloh Keo was the Defensive Player of the Year. Idaho head coach Robb Akey was the Coach of the Year.”

So, to restate it: Turbin, who was only a second team running back because Matthews and Taua also played the same position, is the fifth best player in the conference. And he’s still got two years of eligibility left.

Aggie football fans should be very excited for next season. When’s the last time that phrase was uttered when the WAC basketball season was just getting started?

Leave a comment encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.